Te Pihopatanga o Aotearoa

Anglican Missions supports Te Pihopatanga o Aotearoa in its work overseas.   (Photo:  indigenous Bishops at the AIN 2017 Conference, from left Bishop Kitohi Pikaahu, Bishop Richard Wallace, Bishop Lydia Mamakwa (Canada), Bishop Adam Halkett (Canada) and Bishop Mark MacDonald, also from Canada.)

The Tikanga Māori Missions Council (TMMC) is part of Te Pihopatanga o Aotearoa (The Māori Bishopric) that works in partnership with specific partners to provide mission support overseas in different forms. The main function of the Council is to co-ordinate Mission Team visits, approve and distribute grant funds, and is a body to receive and make reports on the Te Pihopatanga o Aotearoa Mission activities to its benefactors. Anglican Missions funding allows the Council to meet and report.


Australian Maori Missions

Provide Ministry and Training among the Maori congregations living in Australia and setting a Memorandum of Understanding with Local Episcopal authorities regarding licencing and resources. This project has been developing for several years. Te Pihopatanga o Aotearoa have been successful in Sydney, Brisbane, and Melbourne, and are still developing links with Perth.


Hawaii Companion Diocese

Te Pihopatanga o Aotearoa's companion diocese relationship with Hawaii started in the 1970s. They have an exchange and letters of agreement with the Bishop of Hawaii and the Episcopal Church of Native Hawaiian Ministry. Over the years Te Pihopatanga o Aotearoa has established a relationship through the Aotearoa Minita A Iwi programme that involves training and sharing of resources. Te Pihopatanga o Aotearoa have helped the Native Hawaiians to establish suitably qualified Ministry for their people.

Te Pihopatanga o Aotearoa wish to continue this relationship through regular visits and an exchange programme for interns discernment and ministry training.


Anglican Indigenous Network

Te Pihopatanga is part of the Anglican Indigenous Network which is comprised of Anglican Indigenous minorities in Countries that the late Archbishops Paul Reeves and Te Whakahuihui Vercoe made contact with in the early 1970’s.

Participating countries/peoples include; Aotearoa NZ, Australia Aborigines, Canada, Hawaii, USA and Torres Strait Islanders. The AIN gathers every two years alternating hosts and venues.

Composition to the AIN Gathering each country is allowed: 5x delegates; 1x Theologian,1x Tane, 1x Wahine, 1x Rangatahi 1x Elder 

Our latest Mission Action magazine (Dec 2017 – Feb 2018) incluldes an article on the most recent AIN Conference held in Canada in Aug-Sept 2017.  Read the AIN 2017 report

                                                                                         Photo: Women representatives at the AIN Conference, 2017